Books for Autumn

It is October, darlings. Bright blue weather and foreign winds sweep through the fields, white pelican birds with black under-wings break their journey for a few weeks on the lake, darkness falls earlier and earlier, and the fairy-grasses (what are these actually called?) turn deep purple and seem, in the early morning when they’re laced with dew, to be the only things left growing.

It is sweater weather, bonfire weather, adventuring weather. It is reading weather.

There are several books I really want to read this fall (you know, for the vibes). Some are new; some are rereads. Whether I will actually read a single one of them remains to be seen. But I am filled with the need to bask in autumn vibes, and talking about these books definitely does that.

The Perilous Gard

I randomly get urges to reread this at all seasons of the year, but especially November. You’d think it’d be October, when the book takes place, but no, it’s November. Possibly because of how cold and chilly it all is, up north in a secluded castle in Derbyshire.

It’s also autumnal because of Halloween. This isn’t a fun story about Halloween—pranks or ghosts or even kids being stupid. No, I mean like original Halloween stuff. Human sacrifice.

Also one very stubborn young woman who does not plan on letting this happen if she can help it—but can she?

She’s delightfully skeptical. She’ll figure out the rational explanation for all this if it kills her. And if it takes thinking of the ballad Tam Lin as a garbled account of real history or listening patiently to the ramblings of a half-mad minstrel (I love Randal by the way) or following the oak leaves out to a tree that is alarmingly bare of leaves, she will rescue her true love from the Queen’s plans for him.

This book is spare, elegant, thoughtful, and frightening in a much subtler way than a book about any sort of monsters but humans themselves could be.

The Picture of Dorian Gray

I just feel like this ought to be read in November.

I am a fan of Oscar Wilde, this was his one novel, novels are my favorite literary form, and I finally decided I did want to read it after spending many years of my life not sure it was worth it, so why not this November?

The Scorpio Races

What is more autumnal than man-eating horses and a healthy dose of loneliness?

Well, cold beaches, I suppose, and a hungry ocean. Festivals, November cakes, really really hoping your cat’s gonna be okay.

I like this book for Finn, but also for George Holly (the chipper American, out of place among all these close-mouthed, thrifty islanders—but they’re fond of him and he’s fond of them, because he’s a good sort and he wears red shoes), but also for Puck and Sean and Thisby itself.

This book feels exactly like a certain type of October. It reminds me of days when it’s not too cold, and you go out, and the woods are bright and bare but the fields are pale and the wind soft: and no noise you hear is as loud as the silence; and it comes to you that your whole life is simply one of the noises and never touches this silence. The silence is always there; you are just rarely aware of it.

I like that, but also, I admit, I just like horses.

Beowulf

The fall-ness of this one seems self-explanatory to me. Monsters coming into the hall at night. Heroes roaming out into the fen in quest of said monsters. Feasting. Fear. The joy of battle. Removal of arms and display thereof in public places. Good stuff.

Boys of Blur

It’s a Beowulf story, you see. Maybe not quite a retelling, but close. It’s more of an early fall (or even late summer) story, but oh well. I read it recently, and I’ve been wanting to reread it to see if I’ll appreciate it a bit more the second time around.

There’s football (so, fall) and family (good, bad, crazy, found, and otherwise), and Grendel’s mother living deep deep in the muck beneath the sugarcane fields, drawing life from death and eternity from a spring. There is envy like a deadly poison and graves standing empty that should not be empty. And three scared boys. (Who are not safe from envy’s poison either.)

The Lantern Bearers

It’s fall, so what could be more apropos than a book about the fall of a civilization?

I don’t know if this book is actually autumnal (I really don’t know what it’s about except a soldier who remains behind in Britain when the last Roman company pulls out, I think?), but in my head it is, and so I want to read it. My mom says it’s really, really sad. It’s Rosemary Sutcliff, so I believe her.

…Come to think of it, Rosemary Sutcliff’s writing has always given me autumn vibes. The muted colors, blazingly brilliant yet touched with frost, and whatnot. The sudden flick of pen or phrase (like the sudden flick of breeze or falling leaf) that chills you with nameless sadness where a moment ago you were smiling in deep summer content.

The Hobbit

Although Bilbo’s journey takes a year, I associate it immutably with fall.

It just…is so autumnal. The Elves singing in Rivendell, and the emergence into the cold but free and sunlit Wildlands on the other side of the Misty Mountains, and the spiders in Mirkwood, and the dragon soaring in fire and ruin from the lonely mountain to the town on the edge of the lake, and the treasure, and the battle, and the Eagles, and Bjorn—doesn’t it all just scream sweaters and flannel and pumpkin spice lattes?

I’ve been aching to reread The Hobbit for a while. Now that autumn is here, the time is ripe.

I also will probably want to reread The Lord of the Rings after I reread The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings is a fundamentally autumnal work too. I feel very Bilbo-ish every fall, but when I get the urge to read The Lord of the Rings is always spring, for some reason. Also The Lord of the Rings is long, so we’ll see.

This fall I also intend to memorize “When the Frost Is on the Punkin.” I memorized it halfway last fall and never finished for some reason, but I’m going to try and have it by my dad’s birthday (in November) and recite it for him. I know this sounds like something you’d do for your dad’s birthday when you’re six, but though I have progressed past the age of six, my dad on the contrary has not progressed past his fondness for hearing poetry recited. Especially poetry he really likes, and “When the Frost Is on the Punkin” is one of his favorites. (One of mine too. It is autumn-in-the-country incarnate.)

I would also like to rewatch Penelope with my sisters and give Over the Garden Wall a try.

So those are my literary plans for fall! Now it hardly matters if I carry them out, since I’ve blogged about it and the fall aesthetic has been served. Hope you guys are cozy! If you have fall book recs (or otherwise need me), I will be curled up with a London Fog and a good book, watching the leaves fall.

Author: Sarah Seele

A Christian, cat owner, amateur-historian-who-also-really-likes-rocks, wannabe sheep farmer, and writer. Fond of stories. Fond of rain.

10 thoughts on “Books for Autumn”

  1. Pelicans don’t really fly about my area. But I can always tell it is time for autumn when the sandhill cranes return, signaling their arrival with their weird, echoing warbles.
    I associate K.M. Weiland’s Wayfarer with autumn. Part of this is because I first read it around fall, and partly because it is set in September. It also has monsters and costumes, so there is that element for October-ness.
    Beowulf is fantastic. I’ve been meaning to pick it up again, and it looks like now is the best season!

    Like

    1. I looked up what sandhill cranes look like, and they’re quite beautiful? Though also strange. Birds can honestly make the strangest sounds and we don’t even think about it, I’ve noticed. All wildlife fascinated me, but particularly birds—maybe because there IS always some bird-related sign pertaining to autumn. There aren’t any sandhill cranes where I live, but now I wish they were!

      Ooh, thank you for reminding me I want to read Wayfarer (and Storming)! Not this fall (probably), but hopefully next.
      And yes, it’s a fantastic time to pull out Beowulf—I haven’t read it in over ten years, and I’m really looking forward to the experience.

      Like

  2. (Okay, up until this past month I had no idea there were pelicans in the Midwest, and I am still slightly flabbergasted by this? We don’t have them flying overhead here, but that sounds super beautiful.)

    Mmmm, I do think that the chill and gloom of Perilous Gard makes it a November-y book just as much as an October-y book. (So, of course, I reread it this summer. As one does. *facepalm*)

    I NEED TO MAKE NOVEMBER CAKES THIS YEAR. AH. *is suddenly really hungry* (You only just mentioned them in passing. Unbelievable. XD)

    “Removal of arms and display thereof in public places. Good stuff.” <<I will admit to a healthy internal chuckle at this (internal because I'm in a public place with several of my classmates). We should discuss at some point whether our literature has lost something because the "good stuff" of arm removal is (unless you're Megan Whalen Turner) more or less gone from the modern repertoire…

    Wait, Boys of Blur is a Beowulf story? I'm suddenly quite intrigued.

    …I was with you on The Hobbit screaming sweaters and flannel, but I'm not sure if it screams pumpkin spice lattes? Hmm. Something to consider. (Also, I haven't ever had a pumpkin spice latte, so maybe I need to try that out and report back. I also need to try a London Fog, I think, never having had one of those either.)

    (I will admit also to a bit of amusement at your characterization of LOTR as "a fundamentally autumnal work" only because it's the perfect parallel to Tolkien calling it "a fundamentally religious and Catholic work". ;))

    Like

    1. (Haha. I didn’t realize it myself until…idk, high school, maybe? We were sailing on the lake and all of a sudden my dad and I together were like, hang on, those are NOT gulls. XD They’re only here for a few weeks every September, but I love them and I look for them every year.)

      (Read a book during the appropriate season? Nay, never, good sir. Do you take us for sensible people??!)

      XD XD I need to look up your gluten-free recipe so I can make them for Thanksgiving!

      Ooh, Sam, I love this question/thought. I must ponder it. (Really. I find it very interesting, and have never thought about it before. Pray bring it up again at some point for discussion.)

      It is! And a very good one at that. (Also very weird. But…Beowulf is weird.)

      Haha. I guess…it’s all the appreciation of creature comforts, specifically food and drink, that makes me associate it with pumpkin spice lattes? Pumpkin spice lattes are this blend of celebratory and cozy, like the mead in Bjorn’s hall or the feasting in Rivendell. I dunno. I’ve never actually had a pumpkin spice latte, being hostile to the taste of coffee. BUT LONDON FOGS ARE AMAZING although you have to get one made by someone who knows how to make it BUT THEY ARE AMAZING AND YOU SHOULD TRY ONE SOMETIME.

      Ha. It works, though. And, y’know, both autumn and Christianity are keenly aware of but keenly undismayed by mortality. So it practically means the same thing, eh?

      Like

  3. Autumn is my jam, and books are my jam, so clearly autumn books are particularly pleasing to me.
    I’ve recently been wanting to re-read The Perilous Gard and The Scorpio Races myself. (I was about to say, “What a coincidence!” but perhaps not? Because, the autumn vibes? So it’s not entirely random)
    I am intrigued by your description of Boys of Blur. May require me to take action at some point. (“Action” being specified as a trip to the library of course [which I really need to take anyway–particularly because splashing along ankle-deep in brightly colored leaves and arriving at a destination full of books is one of the joys of autumn and life in general])

    Like

    1. All the jams of autumn have been collected into one place, that we may make like honeybees and feast upon them. (…do honeybees eat jam? I feel like it’s something honeybees would do…?)

      I randomly want to reread Perilous Gard at ALL SEASONS of the year (because it’s SO GOOD), but the autumn vibes give one that all-important Excuse. Sure I read it just last January. Was it fall last January, pray?? Then clearly it must be read now that it is fall.

      Action is good. Particularly splashing-through-the-leaves-to-the-library action. In further support of this action, may I mention that Boys of Blur has cousins. Cotton is homeschooled and has no chill and I love him.

      Whether or not you find Boys of Blur, I hope you return from your library trip well-laden, with leaves in your hair! Happy fall, my dear chap!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started